Yet another attempt to find a subject for Assignment 3

As mentioned in my previous post, I have been visiting artists who are exhibiting as part of the Marlborough Open Studios event over the last couple of weekends. Quite apart from my interest in seeing what they are producing was my desire to photograph them in their place of work. I had a wonderful time and the great majority of people I talked to were delighted to cooperate. I seem to have finished the photographing section of the project with two extra artworks in the house, but I’d have loved to take more. What seems to have appeared in the photos I took is a variety of casual portraits, images of people’s studios and examples of their work.  I feel the contacts show more coherence between the subjects and an overall theme which is specific to the group, unlike my last effort with the local carnival, which lacked anything to root it in a specific place.

My next job is to go through the attached contacts and pick out the ones I intend to edit and use. Fortunately, there is no question about whether they should be colour or monochrome – the colour is important for this series.Ass 3 - MOS contacts-1Ass 3 - MOS contacts-2Ass 3 - MOS contacts-3These images These Ass 3 - MOS contacts-4

One thought on “Yet another attempt to find a subject for Assignment 3

  1. Pingback: Assignment 3 – Home is Where the Art is | Holly's OCA I&P Blog

Leave a Reply

