Exercise 3.1 – Windows or mirrors?

As I understand it, mirrors and windows can be described as follows:-

  • mirror – an expression of how you see the world, as opposed to how others see it. It expresses as much about you, the photographer as it does about the subject of the image
  • windows – a warts and all exploration of what the world has to offer, without any personal agenda.

However, there is considerable overlap between the two ideas, depending on their contextualisation, and the relationship between the photographer and the viewer can change the perception of the two concepts in many, if not all circumstances. One person’s family photos are another person’s documentary series, for example. Also, how we, as photographers, choose to position ourselves in relation to the subjects we photograph may not be what the viewer understands, and our contextualisation can a gentle steer to how the images may be read, but not a directive.

As I looked through the archive of images I have taken since taking up photography seriously, I see that I shied away from taking photographs of people, even close family, for a long time. It was only last year when I began this module that people began to appear regularly in my personal images.

Version 1 – All images are ordered by the most recent one first and they are taken from non-OCA related work.

Mirrors

Windows

It has been difficult to decide what image should go into which set, because I believe that all of them reflect my own personal response to the world rather than anyone else’s. As I have mentioned previously, I am a keen practitioner of Mindful Photography, which teaches one to look at the world with fresh, open eyes, and to photograph whatever catches my eye without making any personal judgements about the subject. I can see this in the majority of the images above. After all, I decided to make these images which reflect something I have seen, and another person’s interpretation of the same scene might be very different. All of them tell a story, with the probably exceptions of No5 in set 1 and Nos 3 and 5 in the second set. The meanings of the first set’s photos are particular to me (again a possible exception in No4), while the second set is more observational and about the external world.

There are several observations I have made during the selection process which need to be considered in more detail in future projects. Firstly, I seem to have many, many more images of scenes and situations which are observational of outside subjects; in fact, the vast majority fall into this category. When I look at the images above, I see that they are mostly taken during holidays and specific photo shoots and they are responses to those situations, almost documentary in fact. Equally, most of them are about things or specific self-contained subjects. The only ones which reflect my own life are Nos 1,3 and 5 from the first set. So, another way of dividing the images up might be

Mirrors

Windows

The exercise has drawn my attention to the fact that most of my photography is about external subjects in which I have no emotional investment. They are documentary. However, my last assignment has been more about my own life and the people and situations within in, and I think I need to spend more time on this aspect of my work, rather than observational travelogues. A test for this is coming at the beginning of next month, when I am going on a Mindful Photography weekend to Venice. My aim for it should be to come back with more mirror images and fewer window ones.

With this new understanding in mind, I went back to my 2016 archive to see whether I could collect a group of six images that I feel confident are Mirrors, and they are shown below. Not all associations are immediately obvious to the outsider, but they are to me, and each of these says something about how I view the world around me. I have included two abstract nature photos, as this is the photographic area I tend to play about in, making composites and experimenting. I have also decided that Assignment 3 will be a mirror based project, most probably on my relationships with people I have met through the internet.

 

5 thoughts on “Exercise 3.1 – Windows or mirrors?

  1. Ghada

    I like both your window and mirror photographs. Both have lovely compositions and stories about them. Looking forward to see what you will work on for assignment 3. I am also doing mirror for this assignment 🙂

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: New considerations about assignment 3 | Holly's OCA I&P Blog

Leave a Reply

