Assignment 1 -The Non-Familiar (first draft of images)

For this assignment, my plan was to photograph the people handing out flyers. I would then put each image alongside a picture of the flyer and a published review of the piece. The selection of subjects was made on the basis of who approached me, rather than me actively seeking out subjects myself. All the people I met were happy to have their photograph taken, after I had chatted to them about their show and what brought them to Edinburgh.

Long list of images

Long list of images

From this, I deleted those images with more than one person and those where the background was most intrusive, and I ended up with the following shortlist.

I will now consult my fellow OCA students about which of these should form the final 5. At this stage, I think 5 and possibly 3 are not likely to make the final cut, but I have to lose another two as well.

11 thoughts on “Assignment 1 -The Non-Familiar (first draft of images)

  1. GHADA

    Way to go Holly, I am glad you were able to start the assignment, I personally loved 6 and 8 from the final set and if I would loose one I would loose the first photograph because of the eyes. The contact sheet is not very clear but 9 and 12 seem ok to me but I can’t tell. I am hoping I can Shoot this week for the assignment. Good luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Catherine

    On first sight I would go for 1, 2, 6, 8 and 9 because I could imagine them being in the production even though I knew they wouldn’t be. No. 3 certainly fits with the flyer but his head is cut-off slightly. With No. 4 the lettering on his t shirt is at odds with the flyer. They are all interesting in themselves and I would have liked to know more about them.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Holly Woodward Post author

      Thanks, Catherine. Sadly, I too think no 3 has to go – he doesn’t fit the frame as well as the others. Of the 9 I have shown here, 1-6 were all performing, but I think the last three were paid to hand out flyers for someone else.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Carol Street

    Hi Holly, my choice is 1, 2, 6, 8 and 9. Losers: nr 3 as the top of his head is missing, nr 4 stands out as not fitting in – I think it is his square-on pose whilst the others are slightly more relaxed, also he’s also lost an arm (his doing, not yours!), nr 5 – not 100% sure why but doesn’t quite fit in the series for me, think it is to do with her eyes being in shadow, nr 7 – I’m distracted by the head in the background top right. I can’t really see nr 12 clearly from the contact sheet – if she is in the final mix it might come down to a choice between her and nr.1 due to lack of context in background of nr. 1. Interesting series and a great idea.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Holly Woodward Post author

      Thank you for commenting, Carol. I think I have managed now to whittle them down to a coherent series. The trickiest part was trying to get the colour balance right so they hung together as a set. Just got to write up all the background research now.

      Like

      Reply
      1. GHADA

        Is black and white a choice? Converting them to bw will help focus more on the subject and get rid of all the cluttering in the background. If the color is getting in the way of what you are trying to portray especially the background color then it is better to go bw. Just an opinion as that’s what I would do.

        Like

  4. Pingback: Assignment 1 – The Non-familiar | Holly's OCA I&P Blog

Leave a Reply

